Thursday, May 23

Moscow Bans Airlines From 36 Countries

In response to Western sanctions following Russia’s attack on Ukraine, Moscow decided on Monday that airlines from 36 countries are no longer allowed in Russian airspace.


This was announced by the Russian aviation authority Rosaviatsija.

EU countries, among others, decided last week that civil aircraft operated by Russian airlines and registered in Russia are no longer allowed over European airspace.

Earlier on Monday, Brussels Airlines reported that an airspace closure by the Russians would cause little inconvenience to the company. After all, the company does not offer flights to Asia. There were plans to fly again in a month’s time to the Russian cities of Moscow and Saint Petersburg.

There are exceptions to this ban, for example, with special permission from the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Leave a Reply